Tocaya Organica Mexican Restaurant

fullsizeoutput_39a0

Let’s get this out of the way: Tocaya Organica is not authentic Mexican food. But it’s tasty, healthy and fresh. Mexican food can be a challenge for us lactose-intolerant people because there’s cheese and sour cream on everything. But not at Tocaya. I love restaurants where you don’t have to work that hard to get a dairy-free meal, and Tocaya is one of those places.

The menu can be a little confusing at first because there are choices. Tocaya is all about choices. But actually, it’s quite simple. There are four main categories: (1) salads, (2) bowls, (3) tacos, and (4) burritos and wraps. For any of these, you choose one protein and one cheese — and these include vegetarian and vegan options. Most restaurants only offer one type of vegan cheese, but Tocaya has two. That’s progress!

There’s also an interesting assortment of sides and beverages, and so far, one dessert option that I have yet to try: a scoop of vegan vanilla ice cream sandwiched between two churro waffles and drizzled with chocolate sauce. OMG.

fullsizeoutput_39b6
Cucumber mint limeade with an adorable paper straw

I know “bowls” are annoyingly trendy these days, but I happen to like them, as I’ve always had a soft spot for one-dish meals. The reason I love Tocaya’s bowls is that I don’t really care for tortillas. I mean, I’ll eat them if I have to, but if I can get a tortilla-less taco, I’m all for it.

Here’s a bowl called the Fajita Del Rey that hit the spot. It comes with sautéed poblano peppers and onions, spanish rice, black beans, vegan chipotle crema, guacamole and pico de gallo. For my protein, I chose carne asada; for my cheese, vegan chipotle jack.

fullsizeoutput_39a8
Fajita Del Rey bowl

I loved this dish. The meat was tender and packed with flavor; even though I wasn’t allowed to order it medium rare, it wasn’t overcooked. Also, the poblano peppers were a nice change from the usual bell peppers, and they were de-seeded so not too mouth-searingly spicy. Finally, the toppings were super fresh — heavenly, creamy guac, and that chipotle crema! You’d never guess it was vegan.

The vegan chipotle jack didn’t rock my world, but it wasn’t bad either.

I was so excited to have leftovers because the next morning I did what I love to do: heat up a bowl of leftovers and put a poached egg on top of it. Threw in some of the leftover plantain chips from our guacamole side order, and I had a fabulous Mexican brunch.

fullsizeoutput_39ac
Leftovers

The other Tocaya bowl I’ve tried is the Venice Beach, containing roasted cauliflower, sweet potato bravas, lentils, pickled onions and cilantro-curry salsa. I chose chicken tinga as my protein and, again, the vegan chipotle jack. This was a filling, satisfying meal with a bit of an Indian flare, but it felt autumnal. I would get this again in the fall or winter, for sure.

fullsizeoutput_39b2
Venice Beach bowl

One last note: The alcoholic drinks here are delicious and strong. My husband had a hibiscus margarita and was pleasantly surprised to find that it wasn’t overly sweet or watered down. I love a restaurant that takes everything on their menu seriously — no throwaways!

fullsizeoutput_39a6
Hibiscus margarita

Tocaya currently has several locations in the Los Angeles area, but the only one I’ve been to is at the newly renovated Century City mall. Tocaya has a prime piece of real estate there, on the top floor next to the AMC cineplex. The restaurant is indoor-outdoor, with a lovely sunny patio bordered by succulents, an atmosphere worthy of the fabulous food. If you eat dairy-free, it is a must-try.

TOCAYA ORGANICA, 10250 Santa Monica Blvd. #2300, Los Angeles, CA 90067

Leave a comment