Good Karma Dairy-Free Yogurt

IMG_8722

You’d think I’d have some good karma from diligently trying all these dairy-free yogurts. After all, back in my dairy-eating days, I never even liked yogurt that much. But now I’d give my left nut to find a dairy-free yogurt that tastes half as good as Yoplait.

Good Karma Dairy-Free Yogurt is made from flaxmilk. I’ve never tasted flaxmilk straight up, so I can’t tell you if this yogurt tastes like it. What I can tell you is, it’s awful. And my hopes were not high, since I hated both the coconut-milk-based So Delicious yogurt and the almond-milk-based Almond Dream yogurt.

My expectations sank even further when I removed the lid and saw this yellow clumpy mess.

IMG_8725

After a vigorous stirring, it looked slightly more palatable, but not much.

IMG_8729

I mustered up my courage and put a spoonful into my mouth. The first flavor that hit me was intense sweet, followed quickly by sour. I thought, “This tastes like a condiment.” Condiments are often vinegar-based (sour) and contain a lot of sugar (sweet). This yogurt tastes like something you’d dip a Chicken McNugget into! I know yogurt is supposed to be sour, but this sour just tasted wrong.

After the initial sweet-and-sour flavor assault, I was left with a weird aftertaste that I can only describe as “unnatural.” I read the ingredients and found “pea protein isolate,” which has been in some other vegan products I’ve tried and didn’t like. I also found “cane sugar,” something I never want to see on an ingredients list. I mean, if you’re drinking a Coke, I suppose cane sugar is better than high fructose corn syrup… but it’s still sugar. And I don’t want sugar in my yogurt.

Needless to say, I’m giving a big thumbs-down to Good Karma Dairy-Free Yogurt. The stuff tastes nothing like yogurt. I know I keep saying that about dairy-free yogurts, but it’s true. I’m officially done with trying them unless someone has a recommendation. If you’ve had one that actually tastes like yogurt, let me know in the comments section!

Leave a Reply

