Almond Dream Non-Dairy Yogurt

img_7964
So bad, even Godzilla won’t touch it.

I’ve already written one blog post about a terrible non-dairy yogurt, So Delicious, and I don’t want to repeat myself… but I feel it’s my duty to warn people about another terrible non-dairy yogurt, Almond Dream. This one is made from almonds (duh). I’m usually in favor of almond milk — for instance, I love almond milk lattes and cappuccinos. But this yogurt is godawful.

I don’t understand why it’s so hard to make a non-dairy yogurt that tastes decent. Can anyone explain this to me?

I got this yogurt because my husband and I recently purchased a NutriBullet blender and we’ve been making awesome green drinks and smoothies with it. Because the NutriBullet is so powerful, it can turn frozen chunks of mango into a sippable beverage in seconds, which our old, traditional blender couldn’t do. I found a NutriBullet recipe for mango lassi and wanted to try it using non-dairy yogurt.

But when I opened this yogurt and tasted it, I was so repulsed that I didn’t even make the lassi. Why waste good mango?

img_7967
Next to a white napkin, note its unappealing beige color.

This yogurt tastes nothing like yogurt; it doesn’t even have the sourness of the So Delicious coconut-based yogurt. Nor does it have the nutty flavor of almond milk. It just tastes… unnatural. There’s really nothing good about it.

I’m starting to think I may never be able to drink a mango lassi again.

Of course, that’s what I said about ice cream and look what happened. So maybe there is hope… if Ben & Jerry’s starts making non-dairy yogurt.

Leave a Reply

