BOLD Organics Dairy-Free Frozen Pizza

img_7465

Ever since I tried Blaze Fast-Fire’d Pizza, I’ve been on a dairy-free pizza kick. I got very excited at Ralphs the other day when I saw BOLD Organics Meat Lovers Pizza in the freezer case because it contains real meat and no dairy. Most dairy-free pizzas are vegan and some have “fake meat” made of soy. This annoys me. Not everyone who can’t eat dairy is a vegan!

Unfortunately, all of BOLD’s dairy-free pizzas are also gluten-free. Therein lies the problem.

The sausage and pepperoni on the Meat Lovers Pizza were on par with most frozen pizzas I’ve tried. The vegan cheese was also fine. The deal breaker, though, was the gluten-free crust. It was made from organic brown rice flour, and to be blunt, it was worst crust I’ve ever had. No flavor at all, and the texture was all wrong: dense and grainy.  I could only bring myself to eat one half of my pizza and threw the rest away.

img_7466
Looks better than it tastes.

Although I don’t have a problem with gluten, I have tried quite a few gluten-free products out of curiosity. Seems like over the years they’ve improved; I’ve had some excellent gluten-free brownies, cookies, and cupcakes. But I’ve never had a decent gluten-free pizza crust. Is it just impossible to make? I don’t know if I have the patience to find out.

So, even though BOLD Organics had me at real meats, I have to give them a resounding thumbs-down for that inedible crust.

One thought on “BOLD Organics Dairy-Free Frozen Pizza

  1. Never had a “decent gluten-free pizza crust”? Neither have I! I have been working on it for about three years now… My crust has improved, but it’s still not quite what I would like it to be 😩. But I am stubborn. I will keep trying!

    Like

Leave a Reply

