Coconut Bliss Ice Cream Bars

coconutbliss

As Labor Day marks the official end of summer, I wanted to wrap up my dairy-free summertime treats series with a great ice cream review. Unfortunately, I can’t give a thumbs-up to Coconut Bliss Coconut Almond in Chocolate Non-Dairy Frozen Dessert Bars. If you’ve been following my blog, you know I’m a fan of Coconut Bliss Mint Galactica, and I’m always keeping an eye out for new products from Luna & Larry.

I really wanted to like these because they look just like Häagen-Dazs Vanilla Milk Chocolate Almond Bars, one of my favorite treats from my dairy-eating days. The Häagen-Dazs bars contain the richest, creamiest vanilla ice cream coated in thick, high-quality chocolate studded with crunchy roasted almonds. They’re ridiculously good.

fl_bars_vanillamilkchocolatealmondbar_hero
Häagen-Dazs, the Holy Grail of ice cream bars

The problem is, the Coconut Bliss bars taste nothing like the Häagen-Dazs ones, even though they look alike. The Coconut Bliss ice cream inside the bar is not vanilla-flavored. When I bit into one, I had to check the box again and realized that nowhere on the package does it say “vanilla.” I just assumed because of the Häagen-Dazs resemblance.

The ice cream is, in fact, coconut-flavored. The worst part is that it’s not smooth, but rather thoroughly infused with bits of coconut shavings that give it a gritty texture. If you like coconut shavings, you might like this. I don’t.

On top of that, the chocolate coating is far inferior to the Häagen-Dazs one. It’s just low-quality chocolate. And the almonds taste stale.

All in all, a huge disappointment. Why, Luna & Larry, why?

Leave a Reply

