Slicetruck’s Grandma Pizza

pizza
“It’s a circular Italian food object.” – Tim Robbins, explaining pizza to Howard the Duck

A few months ago, I reviewed Slicetruck pizza made with Daiya vegan cheese and promised to review their “Grandma Pizza,” a thick-crust version. This weekend I finally tried it. I ordered a mini Grandma with Daiya cheese, homemade sausage, and porcini mushrooms. Much better!

The reason I usually don’t like thick crusts is that they’re too soft and doughy. The crust on Slicetruck’s Grandma had a nice crunchiness and just a hint of a burnt flavor — in a good way, like it had been licked by the flames of a wood-fired oven. Plus, the thickness of the crust was able to support the weight of the toppings. Unlike their thin-crust pizza, this one didn’t fall apart when I picked up a slice. Even topped with Daiya cheese, which is wetter than real cheese, the slice stayed intact. There was also no grease whatsoever.

As for the toppings, as I mentioned in my earlier post, the sausage and mushrooms are beyond reproach. The Daiya cheese is a little odd, but bears enough resemblance to real cheese that I would rather have it on my pizza than go without. And this time I noticed big chunks of fresh tomato on my pizza — not just tomato sauce. This, along with the fresh basil, puts Slicetruck way above your average pizza.

The bad news is the price. I ordered a mini pizza for $10.75 because the regular size was $19. (Toppings cost extra.) Usually when food is placed in front of me, my reaction is, “I’ll never be able to finish that.” This time when I opened the box, I was like, “I’m gonna eat that in ten seconds.” They’re not kidding when they call it “mini.” Took me longer than ten seconds to polish it off, but not by much.

But if money is no object, then order up a regular-sized Grandma Pizza with Daiya from Slicetruck and you’ll be happy. It’s a winner for us lactose-intolerant folks.

SLICETRUCK PIZZA, 1523 S. Bundy Dr., Los Angeles, CA 90025

One thought on “Slicetruck’s Grandma Pizza

Leave a Reply

