Coconut Bliss Mint Galactica

coconut
Chocolate chip mint from out of this world

Ever since I stopped eating dairy two years ago, I have searched high and low for a non-dairy ice cream substitute. I’ve concluded that the best ones are made from coconut milk. Forget soy milk, almond milk and – the worst – rice milk. They just don’t have the right texture.

A few years ago, a friend introduced me to Luna & Larry’s Organic Coconut Bliss. The two things I look for in a coconut-based ice cream are (1) a smooth, creamy texture and (2) no trace of coconut flavor. Now, I dig the taste of coconut, but it has its place (e.g., in a piña colada). Thus far, the Coconut Bliss flavors I’ve tried all passed the first test, but not the second.

Enter Mint Galactica. First of all, how can you not love an ice cream named MINT GALACTICA? Second, you cannot taste the coconut at all. All you get is mint and chocolate – which is exactly how a mint chocolate chip ice cream should taste. Plus, they don’t skimp on the chocolate bits, which taste like high-quality dark chocolate.

The reason I did a jig in the frozen aisle of Ralphs when I found Mint Galactica is that I’m planning to make a dairy-free version of a Shamrock Shake for St. Patrick’s Day. Stay tuned to see how it comes out and get the recipe!

2 thoughts on “Coconut Bliss Mint Galactica

  1. Do you take special requests? If you can find a non-dairy substitute for half and half, I might have a fighting chance at going dairy free. Please help!

    Like

Leave a Reply

